too good to be true

do you ever think that if you like something too much it’s going to cease to exist? it’s as if the fact that you like it so much means it’s inherently bad and therefore can’t, and won’t, stick around for too long..

I think I’m that way with friendships. i’m really happy right now with the friends i’ve made and the relationships i’m building, but there’s this nagging voice in the back of my head that’s saying, “it’s too good to be true…” cause I mean, nothing lasts forever right? or if I’m enjoying friendships too much I’ll hold them too closely and screw everything up.

maybe it’s not so much that it’s too good to be true- but that there’s a truth resonating inside my soul that tells me “true joy isn’t found here.” it’s telling me not to get stuck, not to latch on with all my might, not to think that if something changes I won’t be as happy or as fulfilled. and maybe that’s not such a bad thing. maybe if I can take that truth to heart I won’t fear change, and I can truly rest in what God wants to give me, and take things one day at a time.

hmmm….. life is good.

One thought on “too good to be true

Leave a Reply

