planes, trains, and automobiles..

woah, am I ever tired. It’s been 30 hours since I left Anchorage – and the only sleep I got was on the airplane(s). I think tonight I will sleep very very well.

So.. About my journeys..
Wednesday went off without a hitch. I was feeling pretty groggy and a little sick, but overall it was fun. I landed in Minnesota, got to spend some quality time with family and friends, and as a birthday present my mom arranged for me to have a manicure and pedicure with Jennilyn, the most amazing person ever. What?? It was a long layover! Then came the flight to Amsterdam.

We’ve boarded the plane, pulled away from the gate, ready to take off, and the captain instructs us that there’s been some sort of indicator light go off, and he’s going to have to have maintenance come look at it. **TWO hours later (still on the plane) they finally figure out that it was really nothing. Great – so after taking a night flight from Anchorage, on very little sleep, they just added 2 hours to an already very long flight to Holland. We finally landed this morning about an hour and a half late – my internal clock was set at 130 am, Anchorage time, and I had to catch a train to Kruiningen.

I had an hour and a half until the train departed, and I made it just fine. Granted, I wandered here and there a bit, trying to find and read signs, a little confused and a little in wonder. But no trouble. I changed my dollars to euros, bought my train ticket, and was on my way. I’d been on the train not two minutes when the conductor came to punch my ticket – then promptly told me I was sitting in first class and I had only a second class ticket. So I had to get up, walk 3 feet through a clear swinging door, and sit down on the other side of it. I mean…. Really?
I accidentally fell asleep during the second half of my two hour train ride and kicked another passenger in the foot. oops.

What I’ve seen of Holland so far reminds me of an old “colonial village,” Whatever that means. It has some nice countryside.. And a lot of graffiti on the buildings.

So I guess that’s all for now.. I’m taking lots of pictures but won’t post any of them till I get back.. Bummer, I know.

On a side note, all the websites on this computer are in dutch. I don’t read dutch.

One thought on “planes, trains, and automobiles..

Leave a Reply

