that’s just so very dutch..

I’m staying in this monster “house” that is really more like a big building divided into sections and different families live in sections, separated only by a door.. or something. I’ve technically only seen the section I’m staying in. But there’s a little boy staying in another section… Right next to mine. How do I know? Because all he ever does is scream. Last night when I was trying to go to sleep. Screaming. Waking me up just after I fell asleep. Screaming. This morning at 615. Screaming. Seeing as I never heard anyone else, just this screaming boy, I started to wonder if there wasn’t just some kid locked in a closet somewhere. **creepy** But I’ve been assured that yes he has parents and yes, he screams all the time. Just now. I heard him screaming.

We were supposed to go into Amsterdam today after meeting up with a group from PA at the airport. They were delayed leaving Philly though, and missed their connecting flight in London, and arrived here very late. I spent 5 hours in the airport, conveniently surrounded by a language I don’t minutely understand. I’m a little disappointed I didn’t get to see the city, but it wasn’t too bad. The village I’m staying in at the moment is very picturesque. Tomorrow we’ll be heading out to another village to meet up with a dutch group.

It’s rained quite a bit since I’ve been here… Last night I woke up around 100 am and it was raining pretty hard, so I got up to shut the window. As I’m climbing back into bed I see lightning! And I heard thunder! It was crazy – I didn’t really think about the fact that I hadn’t seen or heard that in such a long time.

This afternoon, on our way back to Kruiningen (the village we’re staying in) we stopped to use the restroom and while we were inside it started POURING. One of the Americans turned to me and asked, “What’s the average windspeed?” It took me a second, but then it dawned on me that he thought I was dutch. I said, “I don’t know. I’m American.” But the more I thought about it I wondered, Does anybody know the average windspeed where they live?? I mean, what kind of a question is that?

The good news is, I saw two IKEA’s on the way to the airport, and they play Justin Timberlake on the radio here. How bad could it be?

Leave a Reply

