I’m gonna be rich..

I was balancing my “checkbook” yesterday.. (just a fancy word I use when what I really mean is my computer calendar/bank account/credit card statements). I started doing the calculations, projections, I’m on a roll… paying off my car and realizing I’ll have $3,000.00 in the bank by the middle of December!

BOO YAH!

So I’m excited, put down my computer and start working on my Old Testament read through… when suddenly I’m reminded of how horribly inconsistent I am with tithing lately. So instead of continuing to be a lazy bum, I get back online and sign up for automatic payment of my tithe. [sidebar. Does it still count as tithing, as WILLING sacrifice, if I’m not consciously writing the check myself every two weeks?] And I’m feeling pretty good because I know the Lord loves a cheerful giver and I’d do better to tithe and trust him than to try to hoard it all for myself. (Besides, I’m gonna be rich by the end of the year…)

And I go back to my “softledger” to update for my tithing. And I realize. I did all my calculations wrong. Wrong. Dead wrong.

I will not be rich by the end of the year.

You know what though? I’m still excited about giving to the church and being a good steward of my money. I’m excited to start seeing my debts paid and being able to invest in a “home” someday. I’m excited for all of it. And even though the more consistent tithe paying could very well mean a more consistent lack of money – I know that God is not bound by “laws of nature.” And I’m super excited to see what he’s going to do with it all – with my heart, my money, and my life.

It all belongs to him anyway…

One thought on “I’m gonna be rich..

  1. Thanks for sharing this journey. The ups the downs, the calm realization at the end. It’s a bit like life I suppose. Still waiting for my calm realization.

    Hope your date was AWESOME!

Leave a Reply

