Exactly which daylight have we saved??

Last weekend I thought joy had been restored to my life – when I woke up in the morning, the sun came up too. Ahh… the joys of Daylight Savings in Alaska. Finally! The sun rises before 10 am.

And then 330 pm came. What? It gets dark here SO early!! Sunset: 4:53 pm.

I’ve been pretty depressed about this lately – it makes motivation nil. It makes me want to sit on the couch and do nothing. It makes me want to sleep all the time. So I started looking up actual daylight hours in Alaska, just so I could PROVE how ridiculously short our days are. Then you’d all feel sorry for me. So I compared: Minneapolis vs. Anchorage. And guess what?

Yes, the sun rises nearly two hours earlier in Minneapolis. But it’s true my friends, today the sun set 20 minutes LATER in Anchorage. And this is the time of day that was giving my frustration VINDICATION! Why oh why, if the evenings are no different than at home, does it feel so dark and depressing??

I know. There aren’t any lights in this city cause we all sleep in igloos and drive our sled dogs to and from work…

3 thoughts on “Exactly which daylight have we saved??

  1. The best thing about this post… the many, many labels. You’re really taking it to the next level with the labels. You have inspired me to consider labeling my posts.

    Also, hilarious that Minnesota has an earlier sunset.

    Hope your gig last night was awesome. “Gig”, that’s what they call it on “Flight of the Conchords” and I’ve decided to incorporate it into my everyday language. Good thing you’re in a band. I’m not sure how I’d ever have another opportunity to use it!

  2. Sounds like you need some good times with your family over the upcoming holiday celebrations. I know said times are coming for you (heard the scoop through the extended family grapevine), so hang in there!

    Miss you!

    Dark in MN (but it’s okay cuz it’s now light in the morning when I go to work) –
    Beth

Leave a Reply

