My Most Embarrassing Moment Ever?

When I was in high school, I was a little insecure. Certainly I was not one of those girls who knew who she was or had all the confidence. I was still “finding” myself. So much so, that I tried to fit into the mold. Not necessarily everybody’s mold, but the general populace mold. The one that said I belonged and was accepted. And I’m not too proud to say I may have bent a little one way or the other to be what people wanted.

Case In Point:

I had a crush on a guy when I was in 10th grade. For some reason I thought guys would want to go for girls who were like them – you know, someone they relate to… So, clearly, the way to be like a guy – the most OBVIOUS way – is to dress like him.

Yes. I did this.

No, I did not wear men’s clothing. I did, however, try to simulate the style. Jeans and sweatshirts. I wanted to be what he liked, be what he wanted. For some reason I thought he would be attracted to me for it.

But, alas…. He did not want to date me. No, the “dressing like him” method did not do the trick.

It was a fateful day later that year that I was sitting near him at lunch and he told me the only reason he dressed the way he did was because he couldn’t afford to buy nicer clothes.

*ouch*

Leave a Reply

