I Really Am Lucky

Tonight at church Jon and I got to sing a song by Bethany Dillon called “You Are On Our Side.” It’s really a beautiful song; I recommend you download it from iTunes right now because it quite possibly could change your life.

As we were about to sing, Karl (my uber energetic, red headed pastor) said, “So are you two an item now?” Right in the middle of the church service. Right in front of God and everybody.

I just kind of made a face, smiled, and laughed. Because Karl is that guy. He’s the guy who will tease you and make fun of you cause your shirt is too hip or because he wants to announce to a room full of people that you’re single. Or, in my case, NOT single. In fact, I’m surprised it took him this long to say something – since Jon and I play together all the time.

After the service was over, they played the recording of the song we sang through the speakers… And I kind of just stood there in awe. Sometimes I am so humbled and feel so lucky to have the gift of music and the opportunity to share that gift with others. Maybe not everybody in the world wishes they were musical, but it’s something I’ve always dreamt about. And I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that every ability and opportunity I have is from God alone. So to hear it and to know that God graciously allows me to show my love for him in that way is the most amazing, unbelievable gift I’ve ever been given.

And as a bonus, after tomorrow, 1.3% of the population in Anchorage will know that Jon Bowen and I are dating. :)

5 thoughts on “I Really Am Lucky

  1. give dance and praises to God
    for givin us this great life
    where this big thing call “love”
    and with the other one call music
    we dont need nothing else.
    I enjoy reading your small love story

  2. I agree with you… the surprising part is that he didn’t say something sooner. I would have loved to see the look on your face. :)

  3. I miss hearing you share your gift… ok, that was cheesey.

    Really, I do miss hearing you sing and play. When you make a new recording, I want to be on the top of the list to get it!

    ~Amie

Leave a Reply

