On Finding Fulfillment

It has come to my attention lately that not very many things in life are fulfilling.

A smattering of examples:

  1. The Internet – I use it, I even love it at times, but it drains me. What an oxymoron is this blog right? Well, that brings me to point number 2.
  2. People – People are great, and all around the world I want to be connected and know people. I want to build great and rewarding relationships, but in the end they will not fulfill me. I think I know this from first hand experience.
  3. Career – Perhaps it’s possible to be fulfilled by career? I know I have always thought it is. But what I’ve also learned is that it definitely isn’t guaranteed. And yet work can still be good if not the ‘end all.’

But a lack of fulfillment isn’t really the point is it?

I’ve been thinking about a verse lately that says, Jesus came so that we may have life, and have it to the full. That sounds exciting! And I don’t think he meant we were going to get the most out of our day jobs or our modern conveniences. I mean, what is real life anyway? I know it isn’t going to work every day so I can get a paycheck – and yet that is a necessary aspect of living. I know life isn’t just found in how many friends we have, or how “connected” are the friends we have; this isn’t a popularity contest.

Of course I don’t know what the meaning of life is. And I don’t exactly understand how to live “fulfilled.” But I am going to try a little harder to pursue truth, to pursue what’s real, and to make the most of every opportunity. And I think a little part of that includes enjoying the things God made us most passionate about.

I LOVE to sing. I LOVE to express myself in music. I’m not going to make it into something that must fulfill me, but I’m going to enjoy it. Even if just for fun.

Why not??

One thought on “On Finding Fulfillment

Leave a Reply

