It’s a Record

The high today in Anchorage was 80 degrees, a record high for July 7. In fact, it’s now 10:30 pm and it’s still 72 degrees outside (and completely sunny, I might add…). And do you want to know something interesting? The highest temperature ever recorded in Anchorage was only EIGHTY SIX degrees, in 1953. We were not that far away from that today.

Now you might be thinking to yourself, “80 degrees is not hot.” But guess what, people? We don’t have air conditioning. Why? Because we DON’T NEED IT. Usually.

All I’m saying is that when you’re doing pilates in a building that does not have controlled air when it’s 80 degrees, it feels “hella” hot.

What I’m also saying? I am LOVING it. 

I don’t think I’ve felt this warm in 4 years. In fact, as my mom was saying all last week during her visit, if it was like this more often in Anchorage, we’d be inundated with people.

I didn’t think it would be fair of me to brush over the magnificence that is the weather this summer, even if I did mention that we had a nice Spring. If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time then you know that what we are experiencing is nothing to be scoffed at;  I am soaking it up.

Tomorrow is forecasted to hit 75. I am loving my state right now.

4 thoughts on “It’s a Record

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more! I went on a walk yesterday with my niece…and by the end of it…I WAS SWEATING. Weird, yes?

  2. Pingback: The Eagle Has Landed (And Other Assorted TidBits) « Marijke Jane

Leave a Reply

