What It Means To Leave

Davita got on a plane on Friday.

Sally leaves tonight.

People are moving out of state like it’s going out of style, and it’s causing me to consider my own impending journey.

The thing is, I have never cried during a move. Not once, though I’ve made a major move 5 times in the last 10 years. And I’m pretty sure I can guarantee that I will cry at some point during this transition. Whether before or during or immediately after, I can’t say. But I know it will happen.

Somebody once told me that if leaving here is difficult it means I’ve lived well.  And if having lived well means I’m going to miss what I leave?

I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

2 thoughts on “What It Means To Leave

  1. My sister Anne cried, my sister Leah cried. I still haven’t cried. I guess so much has gone into the decision and the preparation to move that I feel like it’s just time. I will miss so many people here, but I’m not sad about leaving yet.

    I gotta run. They just called my row for boarding. So just for old times sake…

    I’m outtie. :)

Leave a Reply

