This Music Thing is for Real

Last night I got the chance to do a gig downtown anchorage. It was the first of what I assume will be many shows on my own, and generally those are not my favorite kind of shows. I love playing with a full band – and I’m usually a little unsure of my own guitar skills so I like the security offered by playing with others. Also, a band makes my music sound so much more awesome.

So there’s that.

In any case, I managed to set up a gig last minute this week. Anchorage hosts a “First Friday Art Walk” each first Friday of the month, and the downtown Starbucks tried hosting a live musician (ME!) for the first time. It was awesome.

You know? I was way less nervous than I thought I was going to be. I tend to do a quasi freak out about playing shows on occasion.

I KNOW. It’s incredibly ironic, all things considered.

But it was a great time. I was relieved that I felt comfortable, and I enjoyed myself.  Quite a few friends were in attendance, and I even sold some cds! All in all, a wonderful experience, and encouraging as well..

One thought on “This Music Thing is for Real

  1. You should totally have your PR people snapping some pics at these things :)…

    I’m excited for you. Selling CDs equals awesome.

Leave a Reply

