Focusing Perspective

I’ve been thinking about something ever since my show last Saturday night. The event went well enough, though I could certainly stand to work on my presentation. I’m not always sure how to engage the crowd in a coffee shop style setting, but that’s kind of what got me thinking.

I love to sing, I do. But what I love most about singing is truly sharing my heart behind the songs. I write with purpose, and a lot of who I am goes into those songs. Last Saturday night I was  playing my set, and a friend in the audience asked me to share the story behind a song, and I felt like I couldn’t.

I felt like I couldn’t say, in a very public, casual atmosphere, what was really behind the next song. Because there wasn’t a story or event I could tell, it was just about God – how I come to him (and sometimes don’t) and about how he draws me anyway.

Now you might think this means I am afraid to give a public testimony. I’m not. But I’m cautious when I call a venue and ask if I can come and play, that what I say fits into what they are expecting in allowing me to be there. I’m not into bait and switch evangelism.

But the fact that I didn’t feel comfortable to share my heart made me really evaluate what I want in performing. I don’t want to play a ton of shows that are just music and performance – no substance. Somehow, I need to narrow my focus. Either I choose to find venues to play that will be, up front, open to my message. Or I learn to be a little more bold in my approach – even if it alienates some.

I’m not totally sure how this is going to change things. But I know that I don’t want to waste my time or my money this year playing music that doesn’t matter. Because the message does matter. And that’s why I’m here.

2 thoughts on “Focusing Perspective

  1. It seems like if someone asks, that your sharing your experience, just as you did in the blog, wouldn’t be out of line….
    But then, that is just me,
    Mom

  2. A narrow focus is always good. Think of it as a statement of who you are and where you are going as an artist.

    I’ll be praying for you.

    ~jc

Leave a Reply

