One Day At A Time

But seriously, folks? Sometimes an unpredictable life really is a challenge.

I woke up yesterday in a funk. Just a plain old, ‘I can’t muster the courage to try very hard today’ funk. Was it because I stayed up too late again? I don’t know. All I know is…  I had only one choice.

I stayed in my pajamas. I drank coffee. I worked on my bible study and I told God exactly how I was feeling. And in that process, do you want to know what words came out of my mouth?

“Life is so much easier when I don’t have to be so dependent on you.”

How’s that for profundity?

I’ve been saying that I need to take this one day at a time, and it has never been more true. I can’t predict my courage from one day to the next. I don’t understand my anxiety or peace from hour to hour. I just know that I’m still figuring out the balance between being diligent and trusting God for the rest. Am I doing enough? How could I ever know? But I’ll know I am doing too much when I feel the stress of trying to control situations that can only be left in God’s hands.

He has called me to this. Only He can make it happen.

And every time I turn around I am encouraged by the supportive words of others. Friends who are sharing my music with those around them, family who raves about what they hear, a mother who reminds of the truth of God’s care for my life.

Yesterday was about trusting in God and His plans for me, and not in my own ability. And that was enough for one day.

Leave a Reply

