Lincoln Logs of Life: Part 2

Being a musician really is a lot of fun. OR “Once we get a lot of money, then our happiness will come.”

If there’s one thing I learned in Lincoln about being a musician, it’s that if you can do it – it’s a whale of a time. I met some cool guys who are recording and playing music, and they’re making a living at it. In the 2 days I was there (and after hearing their music and realizing it is awesome) I could honestly say that what they get to do with their days is nothing short of a good time.

But there’s a flip-side. How many of us get to be that lucky? “Once we get a lot of money, then our happiness will come.” When I hear that I think, “haha. yeah right.” Except, if you think about it – it’s kind of true. At least to the degree that needing to support oneself with an income is a undeniable part of doing what you love. 

So what I learned is, some people make it work. What I haven’t quite figured out yet is, am I gonna be able to make it work for me? I stand by my early belief, however, that whatever does or doesn’t happen in the next year of my life – all of this is only a part of the bigger story.

Leave a Reply

