Evidence That I Care More About Money Than I Do My Health

I didn’t exactly make a new year’s resolution to lose weight, but let’s be honest…. ever since I turned 25 the pounds haven’t exactly “gone” anywhere. As far as resolutions are concerned, I’m fairly certain that every week, month, season, transition, holiday, wedding, event ad nauseam, has seen the likes of my “commitment” to getting in shape. I’ve been trying to lose 10 pounds ever since I was gonna try the south beach diet winter of 07-08. That’s two years gone, my friends, and nada… zilch… zip…

The only bright side is that I’m not a blimp yet.

But this year…  Oh THIS year is gonna be different. Because this year we’ve introduced a little something I like to call motivation. Motivation in the form of m o n e y, and if you know me at all you know I’m:

  1. unemployed
  2. stingy

So, when my sisters in law and I decided to put up $100 in the likes of a biggest loser Groat lady style, I became officially committed.

I may sometimes lose money (in poker or what have you).

I don’t often lose weight (like, pretty much never).

But I will not lose money AND not lose weight. 

The plan is, we each need to have a certain percentage weight loss by the time our family reunites this summer. Whoever meets the percentage gets to keep the $100 they fronted. Whoever doesn’t has to relinquish said cash to those who did.

I’m pretty sure I’m about to be in the best shape of my life. I’ll probably become an olympic gymnast after this.

2 thoughts on “Evidence That I Care More About Money Than I Do My Health

  1. Pingback: This Is What I Do « Marijke Jane

Leave a Reply

