Dun Dun Dun Dun…. (That’s the theme song)

Somehow, in the last 3 months, I have become an avid football fan. 

I didn’t grow up watching sports. In high school I watched a few Vikings games when they made it to the playoffs, and then during college my cousin Beth came to live with us. I think she really turned it around for me, being the fan that she was. We started watching some games together, and I think that’s the year you could say I was a fan.

But then I moved to Texas and didn’t have a television.

And then I moved to Alaska (which, incidentally, has no pro sports teams).

So pretty much, I haven’t really watched many games since that one time I was a fan in 1999. And let’s face it, I’m way more interested in the outcome than the actual game.

Usually.

But this year, I have a brother who is a huge chargers fan: season tickets and the whole shebang. I’ve spent 4 of the last 12 weeks at his house, and football was thrust upon me. Coincidentally, the Vikings were on a hot streak for a while there, and then I moved back to Dallas with some football crazies. I’ve watched more football in the last month than in my lifetime combined. I attended my first NFL game, and just like that I’m a mega fan.

I know the standings. I’ve got a football app on my iPhone. I know how the playoffs work, and who’s playing who (or is it whom?) and why. I’ve got the lingo down, and I think Ochocinco is a ridiculous name and yet somehow I kind of like it.  But I still like the Vikings more than any other team.

Does this mean I’m a real fan? I don’t know. And I don’t care. All I know is, if the Vikings lose next week I will probably cry. And I might have to stop watching football again for another 10 years.

5 thoughts on “Dun Dun Dun Dun…. (That’s the theme song)

Leave a Reply

