Oh, That I Wish It Were

Sometimes I wish I were I a writer. Like, a for real, finishing books, that’s all I had to do all day writer. The awesome thing about being a writer, in my completely uninformed opinion, is that the book itself is your performance. But as a musician, the performance is your performance, and the recording is just your merchandise.

Duh.

As a musician, you have to sell yourself so that people will buy your music.
As an author, you just have to sell your book.

Am I wrong?

I’m wrong. But I think this reveals a little bit of truth in how I approach life, or rather, wish I could approach life. In my naive perspective, I just want to do what I do, and I want the rest to take care of itself while I watch approvingly.

Ok, so I know it’s not that easy. In fact, I know being a writer is infinitely difficult in a number of ways I’m verifiably ignoring and haven’t even begun to consider. 

I just want to live in a world where the art speaks for itself, does all the marketing for me, and takes care of all the booking. Is that too much to ask?

One thought on “Oh, That I Wish It Were

Leave a Reply

