Collaboration

This week I have had the privilege of collaborating on a song with a couple interns from the Oaks School of Leadership. It has been really cool. I’ve been writing songs for a long time, but I have never seriously worked on a joint writing project, at least not one that was ever finished.

This week, Heather, Jessica and I wrote a song a together. 

Now they are the ones in the program, they are the ones who are actually taking the songwriting course. I’m just observing and hanging out because it’s fun. In light of this, and of the fact that I have been writing longer, I didn’t want to to take over the assignment. I just wanted to brainstorm ideas together, talk about how to take the song where we want it to go, learn something by working with other people, and maybe offer some of my experience to the process. 

And…  it was so much fun! Y’all. I was so proud of us. We all contributed: ideas, words, melody. And it’s a good, catchy tune. I love what it’s about and the ideas/conversation that went it to it.

Probably a highlight of my time here in the past few months… : )

3 thoughts on “Collaboration

  1. I’m excited to hear this song as well. I’m also excited that you used Y’all in this post. Texas suits you.

Leave a Reply

