The Choice to Be

Last week in my songwriting class, I heard a phrase that has stuck with me for the last 10 days… I don’t even remember the context of what was being said, but the simplicity of the statement found a home in me.

Writers Write
Runners Run

Some days, I don’t feel like a writer. I sit, I try, I mess around on the guitar… But after an hour I stand up, put my guitar back on its stand, and wonder…. What is it that I’m trying to do, exactly?

But I read those words, [Writers Write / Runners Run], and I know that being a writer is more than just a measurable result, a productive feeling or a paycheck.

Being a writer is a choice that requires action.

The comparison, contrasting writing with running, it means something to me now. It means something to me because in the last 6 months I became a runner. And it didn’t happen because I was born a runner. It didn’t happen because running is easy. I didn’t become a runner by magically showing up at the track one morning. I became a runner by choosing to run, over and over and over again.

And so I look at the words, written on a canvas and hanging on my wall.
And I remind myself of truth.

Whatever the goal, whatever the desire..
I can choose to do the thing that transforms me into who I want to be.

2 thoughts on “The Choice to Be

Leave a Reply

